• 86°

Nominations sought for 2020 Family Physician of the Year award: Deadline for submissions is March 6

The Ohio Academy of Family Physicians (OAFP) is calling for nominations for one of its most prestigious awards, the 2020 Family Physician of the Year.

This award recognizes an Ohio family physician who has exhibited extraordinary, beyond-the-call-of-duty merit, and encourages OAFP members and medical students to pursue the ideals of family medicine, and convey these ideals to the public.

With thousands of family physicians providing health care across the state, Ohio is one of the largest, most active chapters of the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). Nearly 80 percent of all family physicians are members to the OAFP.

To be nominated for this award, the family physician must:

• Have 10 years’ post-residency (or equivalent) experience

• Is currently a member of the OAFP for a meaningful period of time

• Is currently in practice.

Jeffrey Bachtel, MD, FAAFP, of Tallmadge, was selected as the 2019 Family Physician of the Year and acknowledged at the 2019 Family Medicine Celebration in Columbus, OH. Nominations for the 2020 award can be made by any current OAFP member, a local constituent chapter, a family medicine residency program, departments of family medicine or a community individual.

To nominate your physician, please complete the online nomination form or send a letter of recommendation to:

OAFP Awards Workgroup, Ohio Academy of Family Physicians, 4075 N. High St., Columbus, OH 43214-3296, Fax: 614-267-9191, Email: lheberling@ohioafp.org.

To check if a physician has membership status with the OAFP, please contact Lauren Heberling at lheberling@ohioafp.org or call 800-742-7327.

The 2020 Family Physician of the Year will be recognized at the annual Family Medicine Celebration Friday-Sunday, Aug. 7-9, at the Renaissance Columbus Westerville-Polaris Hotel.